Book Update: 40,000 Words Reached!

*Note: This was originally a Facebook post a while back (around the end of October), so if parts seem like I’m repeating stuff from previous posts here that is why. Also I have advanced in much word count, so this is technically inaccurate in a lot of areas. Just a post I want to archive here.

Today I have reached 40,000 words for my rough draft! According to my guestimation a while back that means I’m about 10% done with the draft. My speed has quicked significantly (if you take school into account), so I am excited to see how soon I can get to 50,000.

Also I’m debating whether to cut it in half since many publishers are not too keen on publishing new authors with 1000 page books that might fail. If I cut it in half (where there is a natural endpoint), I may have a better chance of finding a publisher who will be more willing to publish it.

And also I wanted to let you know why I’m posting about my book. It’s because I want to be making this a serious part of my life. I mean I’ve wanted to write for a long time but I’ve always been nervous about talking about it. No more! I want to do this so that I can make myself write (not force out words), and motivate myself to get it done. I’ve had so many people say they want to know what it’s about and when it’s going to happen, and I want it to happen now. I want to set up a bit of accountability, and also update myself and those interested with my progress.

Leave a Reply

